Skip to product information


Peter Kam 金培达

Regular price
$19.98 USD
Regular price
Sale price
$19.98 USD
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Format: CD

SKU: SM 4722 1005

ISBN: 9787798436914

Soundtrack Magazine proudly presents a limited edition, world-premiere CD release of composer Peter Kam’s (THE WARLORDS, DRAGON) original motion picture soundtrack to the 2004 award-winning action drama THROW DOWN, directed by Johnnie To (DRUG WAR, ELECTION). The first collaboration between To and Kam, the film tells the story about a group of dreamers and their friendship that centers around the art of judo. With his previous experience in pop music songwriting, Kam created a highly melodic and enjoyable score for the film. Additionally, the composition also has a number of segments that emphasize on the rhythm of the action as well as the solemnity of judo. But in the end, those elements of revenge and decadence are transformed into friendship, dreams, and hope through the music. The whole album is also structured around these rousing elements.

The album is edited under the supervision of composer Peter Kam. Director Johnnie To is also invited to write a special note on the collaboration for this release. The liner notes were written by QIU Yang, the writer and producer of Soundtrack Magazine, based on his interview with the composer.

This is a limited edition of 1000 units, with a pull-out dynamic cover and silver stamping numbering.


01. Throw Down 00:30
02. The Challenger 02:17
03. Back Alley Judo 01:51
04. You Can Never Take Away My Dreams 02:19
05. Strange Friends 03:11
06. The Fallen 04:23
07. Bossa for One 01:54 *
08. The Strong Man 01:28**
09. Spirit of Judo 02:11
10. Chasing Dreams 04:00
11. No Time for Goodbye 01:50
12. Lost on the Way 02:42
13. Fury 02:34
14. Awakening 02:29
15. The Fighter Returns 03:12
16. The Red Balloon 02:16
17. Final Defiance 01:39
18. Summer Dreams 00:58

* Source Music
** Contains Unused Material